How to search for an existing Role

 

To search for an existing role, first navigate to the Users module. Select the Roles tab from the options at the top of the screen. There, a search bar will be displayed at the top of the roles list. The search bar will actively filter roles as you type to include only those matching the input in one of the ID categories (Role Name, Role Description, Privileges, Locations, or Status). 


Note, the Super User role is a default role that does not appear on this list.

 

How to edit an existing role

 


To edit a specific role, locate the role from the list or by using the search bar. Then select the green pencil icon under the actions column for the role you wish to edit. This will take you to the Edit Role screen. Here, you can fill in or alter any text field attached to the role. 


To change a roles permissions,  use the checkboxes under Privileges to add or remove modules which  the role can access. For each selected module choose a permission level: Read only or Read & Write. Once finished, select the Update button in the lower right to save your changes. To navigate back without changing anything, simply reselect the Roles tab or select the Cancel button in the lower right.

 

How to Disable/Enable a role

 


To disable or enable a specific role, locate the role from the list or with the search bar, then select the disable or enable button that appears in the action column. A pop-up will appear to confirm your choice. Once confirmed, the system will switch the specified role between disabled and enabled.

 

How to Delete a Role

 


To delete a specific role, locate them from the list or with the search bar, then select the red trash can icon that appears in the action column. A pop-up will appear to confirm you wish to delete that role. Once confirmed, the system will remove that role from Illuminate as well as from all users who have that role.